A HealthVault record contains health information for one person. An account can hold records for many people. Each record can be managed and shared independently of other records.
For information about the best way to manage health information for multiple people, see How should I set up my account to manage my family’s health?
Next, add a record for the other person:
To add a new record:
The record for the person you’ve added will now be active, and you can begin working with it right away.
In the US only, HealthVault supports "meaningful use" objectives of the HITECH Act by allowing providers to request reports to certify that their patients received health information and took a "qualifying action" such as viewing, downloading, or transmitting health information electronically.
HealthVault gives those providers access to reports that include:
The goal of meaningful use is to promote the spread of electronic health records to improve health care in the United States. By offering these reports, HealthVault hopes to encourage health care providers to provide their patients health information electronically. You can learn more about meaningful use at http://www.healthit.gov.
You can choose whether or not to be included in reports to your providers. Be aware that participating in reports helps your providers prove that they are complying with meaningful use objectives.
To opt in or out of reports to providers:
You don't have to delete a record to stop seeing it in your account. If there is another custodian for the record, you can remove your access, and you won't see it anymore. However, the record information will remain in HealthVault and will still be accessible to other people who share the record.
To remove your own access to a record:
If you want to delete a record completely, you must be the record’s custodian. When you delete a record, all information for that record is deleted from HealthVault, including:
We strongly recommend that you export and save all the information in a record before deleting it.
To permanently delete a record:
When a record is marked Read Only, HealthVault administrators have temporarily halted the ability to add or edit data in that record. To resolve the issue, please contact Customer Support.
If a record in your HealthVault account has been suspended, please contact Customer Support for assistance.